|Facilities and monuments|
The Museum is built on an area of 24,489 square feet. It was designed by Salvador Choussy, (born in 1947) the renowned Salvadoran architect, and rests on an area slightly over 70,000 square feet, that houses several showrooms, an artwork deposit area, administration offices, appropriate workshop spaces, and other complimentary areas like the projection room. In 2007, the Museum expanded its facilities adding a multi-purpose room that has been named “Ernesto Álvarez Córdova”, and a new showroom.
Currently the building has 2,968 square feet of constructed area of which 1,208 square feet used for exhibitions are distributed in five different halls, three of which exclusively display the permanent collection of Salvadoran artists (Main Hall, Hall 3 and Hall 4), while the other two, in compliment with alternative spaces, host the temporary exhibitions.
• Main Hall: 4,004 ft2
• Hall 1: 2,066 ft2
• Hall 2: 1,636 ft2
• Hall 3: 1,636 ft2
• Hall 4: 1,980 ft2
• Alternative spaces: 1,679 ft2
Allegory to the 1950 Constitution-or Freedom Monument: The monumental sculpture, a direct stone carving, features a set of nine figures: a worker, a mother embracing a child, a girl, and two women, one of them partially covered by a soldier holding his rifle peacefully by having it pointing towards the floor. On the back of the sculpture stands another figure of a woman with the Constitution of 1950 in her hands. All together, the figures hold a naked woman covered with the Salvadoran flag that crowns the sculpture. The art piece, created in 1956, by Francisco Zúñiga (1912-1998), a Costa Rican artist (nationalized Mexican) who is considered one of the most important Latin American sculptors with works showcased in several museums and cities around the world.